A book called Bamai Qigong covers the integration of based on the Eight Trigrams, eight extraordinary channels in acupuncture and Ba Duan Jin (Eight Brocades Qigong) will be published this summer.

About the Author

Ph.D med of Chinese Medicine, Chengdu University of TCM (China)
Licensed Chinese Medicine Physician and Acupuncturist (China)
Lecturer, Akupunkturakademiet (Denmark), and Chengdu University of TCM (China) 
Registered Acupuncturist (RAB) (Denmark) 
Member of PA (Praktiserende Akupunktører) , (Denmark)
Clinic in Aarhus
Website: www.zhang.ac
Email: hui@zhang.ac

Features of Bamai Qigong

  1. Detailed philosophic background of Bamai Qigong including the Yin Yang theory and Eight Trigrams;
  2. Chinese Medicine basis on the eight extraordinary channels and important acupoints used in Qigong;
  3. Step by step instruction to practice Ba Duan Jin (八段錦) and demonstrated by Dr. Hui Zhang;
  4. The first reveal of the 8 levels of practicing medical Qigong

Preface of Bamai Qigong by Dr. Hui Zhang

Ba Mai Qigong i.e. eight channels Qigong refers to the combination of the Eight Trigrams, Eight Brocades Qigong, and the eight extraordinary channels in Chinese Medicine. The idea of writing the book came to me after I just finished an advanced course on Ba Duan Jin (Eight Brocades) Qigong. In this course, I tried to combine the eight extraordinary channels in Chinese Medicine and the Eight Trigrams to clarify the definition, dynamic/movement of Qi, and use of Qi. The participants gave me lots of positive feedback, which inspired me to write down my understanding of Qigong from the perspective of Chinese Medicine.

Qi, usually translated as energy or energy flow. But in my opinion, I think the translation has limited the deep understanding of the word. In Chinese Medicine, Qi is defined as the smallest fundamental substances/particles which are called Yin Qi and their functions which are called Yang Qi. Qigong refers to a certain set of breathing, meditation, and body movement, which aims to make a better movement of Qi. Qigong has been used as health promotion for over 2000 years. The earliest practice can date back to primitive dance. In Chinese Medicine classics, Qigong was called Daoyin or guiding, meaning that people use meditation and body movements to guide the dynamic of Qi.

According to archaeological research, Xing Qi Ming or Inscription on Guiding Qi is the ornament dating back to the Warring States (475-221 B.C.). It’s also the earliest archaeological subject with the record of Qigong practice. The inscription on the jade ware has been deciphered as follows:

In order to guide Qi, the body need to take in (Qi), store (Qi), stretch(Qi), sink(Qi), stabilize(Qi), consolidate(Qi), understand(Qi), growth(Qi), return(Qi), lift(Qi), and connect heaven (Qi) with the upper (Baihui-DU20) and connect earth (Qi) with the lower (Yongquan-KI1). If the sequence is followed, the body is healthy, or if the sequence is not followed or reversed, the body is unhealthy.

In 1973, the silk piece of Daoyin Figures, the earliest silk painting on Qigong, was found in Mawangdui Tomb, Hunan Province, China. Archaeological study has confirmed that the tomb can date back to the period from 186 B.C. to 168 A.D.

There are four main schools of Qigong in China i.e. medical Qigong, Taoist Qigong, Confucianist Qigong, and Buddhist Qigong. In Chinese Medicine, Qigong has been basically applied to improve health by supplementing the amount of Qi, reinforcing the quality of Qi and restoring the imbalance of Qi. The Taoist practices Qigong to improve health, delay aging and become immortal. The Buddhist practices Qigong to reach the realm of Zen or emptiness. The Confucianist employs Qigong practice to seek inner peace and become the perfect person.

The doctrine of Ba Gua in Yi Jing (I Ching, Book of Change) is widely used in Chinese Medicine, Taoism, Feng Shui, Qigong, kungfu (e.g. Baguazhang and Taichi), arts, and so on. The theory in Ba Gua is the best model to explain the origin and transformation and transportation of Qi. Especially, in Zhou Yi Can Tong Qi, the most important Qigong classic in Taoist written by Wei Boyang in the Eastern Han Dynasty (25-220 AD), Ba Gua is firstly applied to explain the process of practicing Qigong.

Ba Mai originates from the eight extraordinary meridians i.e. Du, Ren, Chong Dai, Yangwei, Yinwei, Yangqiao, and Yinqiao. These eight meridians are widely used in Qigong, while the 12 ordinary meridians are mainly used in acupuncture treatment.  Ba Mai can be considered as the eight main “highway” in the body, which regulates the movement and functions of Qi.

In my Qigong seminars, the question on the progress of practicing Qigong was frequently proposed. Therefore, I explained the eight levels of practicing medical Qigong based on my own practice and study of Qigong classics in the last part of the book.